Moldova: 1 in 10

A few months ago, my sister called to ask if I woud be interested in joining a team of women from across the US for a mission trip to Moldova to work with Beginning of Life, a local Moldovan organization working to prevent trafficking and rehabilitate victims of slavery.

For the past two years, I asked God if I should join the NCC Greece Mission Trip to support A21 Campaign, but never felt the green light to go.  I was surprised when I prayed about Moldova and felt a different response.

Moldova is one of the top source countries for victims of human trafficking (despite being one of the smallest countries in Europe), but here’s the thing: no one wants to go to Moldova. Three months ago, I barely knew where Moldova was! This isn’t a sexy destination for a mission trip. It’s expensive to get to and there isn’t a relaxing safari/beach/historical site day (note: there is nothing wrong with those days–I love them)! The frigid winter weather is just the icing on the cake.

Here’s what Moldova does have: a population where 1 in 10 people are trafficked. The Holy Spirit kept whispering that statistic into my heart and it was enough reason to come.

I am so thankful for the Holy Spirit.

I will be posting observations from myself and my team members throughout the rest of the week (Internet permitting). Check back every day for updates and thank you for joining me on this journey!

Helen Wong

ncc.againstslavery@gmail.com

@NCC_ASE

Facebook.com/nccase

Leave a Reply

