12 Days of Social Justice: Day 9

unnamed-8

Trafficking Around the World

Read:

Exodus 6:6-9 “Say therefore to the people of Israel, ‘I am the Lord, and I will bring you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians, and I will deliver you from slavery to them, and I will redeem you with an outstretched arm and with great acts of judgment. I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the Lord your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. I will bring you into the land that I swore to give to Abraham, to Isaac, and to Jacob. I will give it to you for a possession. I am the Lord.’” Moses spoke thus to the people of Israel, but they did not listen to Moses, because of their broken spirit and harsh slavery.”

The story of Israel’s exodus from Egypt may be the most well-known account in the Old Testament. The Israelites, enslaved in a foreign nation, are liberated through the miraculous hand of God. Through Moses, God reaffirms that He will give the promised land to the Israelites but “they [do] not listen to Moses because of their broken spirit and harsh slavery.”

There is an estimated 21-36 million slaves around the world today. Millions of people who are horribly oppressed. Millions of people living with broken spirits in harsh slavery. It’s easy to feel overwhelmed when faced with such numbers. With limited resources and training, what can the average person do to help?

Christ came as hope for the enslaved of the world. Matthew 1:23 states: “Behold, the virgin shall conceive and bear a son, and they shall call his name Immanuel (which means, God with us).” Unique among religions, we serve a God who chose to be with His creation in human form. In this, Christ sets an example of presence. His presence was, and is, our hope.

As Christ’s followers we are called to carry and exhibit that same hope, in the form of our presence, to the ends of the earth. In time, the Holy Spirit leads each person to an understanding of what he or she should do individually but the first step is to bear witness to the conditions that lead to enslavement of others. In 2015, NCC will send three mission teams focused on slavery to India, Phoenix, and Thailand. Three opportunities to walk with and be present for others who were enslaved. Three chances to celebrate hope.

Examine:

1. What has enslaved you in the past or is currently enslaving you?

2. How has Jesus been hope in your life?

3. Who is the Holy Spirit calling you to be hope for?

Action/Apply:

1. Pray for the NCC short-term missions.

2. Join a short-term mission team. Visit www.aoneeight.org

Pray:

Jesus, I thank you for the hope you gifted to the world when you took human form. I thank you for your presence on Earth and in my life. I praise you for being fully God and fully man–able to empathize with every joy and pain we have. I ask forgiveness for the times I have been too self-absorbed or unwilling to walk alongside others in difficult circumstances. I pray the Spirit would change my heart to view the enslaved with the love that you view them with. I pray for courage to be present with others, both here and abroad. I pray that I would be able to convey your hope manifested in me to those I interact with. Amen.

Leave a Reply

