Broken in Bangkok

  
          We’re called to be the hands and feet of Christ, but do we really know what that means? Do we fully understand what kind of heartache that opens us up to? Do we really know what it means to have our hearts broken for the things that break God’s? Over the last three evenings, our team has had the privilege of doing outreach in the red light districts of Bangkok. I have come to realize over the last few days that I thought my heart was already broken for the things of God, but it wasn’t until I got into the red light district and started talking to some of the girls that I really understood, that I fully allowed my heart to be completely broken. When you are trying to build a relationship with someone, you can’t have those walls around your heart; you can’t have those safeguards set up.

            My prayer as we entered the first time was that God would show me what He wanted me to see, that I would learn what He wanted me to learn, and that He would give me a new perspective on the lives of the people we were going to talk to. Those prayers were answered for me tenfold. To allow your heart to be broken is the first step in really seeing what God wants you to see, and seeing how He can and does work every single day. I didn’t pray that I would be broken in those words exactly, but opening myself up to allow God’s will, opened me up to a whole lot of heartache, and I’ve never been more happy to have a broken heart.
– Angela 

Leave a Reply

